SO – WHAT WILL YOU GIVE YOUR LOVE ON SUNDAY?

America has always been “big” on what we’ve come to call the Hallmark Holidays and I’ve noticed an increase in Saint Valentine’s Day marketing here in recent years.

There’s not really much known about the old boy, but Wiki tells us this about him. And chocolatiers and florists and card sellers ring up huge sales.

So, apparently, do some beauty salons…This was on a chalk board at a local shopping centre this morning. I’m not planning to have one, but I do hope they do a neater job of waxing than writing!

Big excitement on Monday. Oh, alright, not that big. Not even exciting, really. The Man had booked the Mustang in for what he refers to as an ECG. And I was seconded to “ride shotgun” should it die on the highway. Well, there were a couple of moments when the aged beast did lose power and I tap-danced on my brakes to alert following drivers (one of whom was far too busy yapping on his cell phone to take much notice!)

I shant bore you with details…sufficient tweaking was done to get the old girl back home and The Man even managed 80 kmh, the posted limit on this stretch of the highway and it’s been a day or two since the Mustang blew that many cobwebs! Woo-hoo!

But, waiting in the parking lot, listening to the radio, twiddling my evolutionary marvels, I noticed a clapped-out old banger with more rust than paint. I even said to myself: “Self, they’ve been off-roading and got leaves caught in the boot.”

Then, the banger stopped alongside and I saw, not leaves, but this…

A big “Freddo” frog, inside a broken tail light. If I’d been quicker I might have rescued him, but the banger, clearly not bothered about rough roads, other traffic or safety issues, bumped over the kerb and skidded around the corner. I hope Freddo ‘s sticky feet served him well!

Here’s a very old Freddo I found at Wiki. This is why these green tree frogs have the name.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freddo_Frog

These sketches are so rough I wonder if I shouldn’t scrap them and do a better, more painterly job. Then I look at all the unfinished symphonies around me and think “oh! sod it!” They are only quickies, after all.

And, for my Blogger readers, I’m STILL having comment problems. So please just chat among yourselves. And enjoy the wonderful Bix.

16 thoughts on “SO – WHAT WILL YOU GIVE YOUR LOVE ON SUNDAY?

  1. Remember I commented on a little green frog here before – when I mentioned my froggyphobia.
    Well a few months later I saw one in Spain.
    It was OK – cute even.
    Hope yours survived.

    • Well done! They are really the “good guys” of this world. And, yes, I hope Freddo was OK. He probably hunkered down inside the light casing and hopped out when the car was parked.

  2. I’ll try to leave a comment. Yes, I hope Freddo was okay too, and not too far out of his comfort zone. Now if you asked me do I like jazz, I’d say no, and I’d also say no to the trumpet – BUT I loved that clip from Bix. Sweet, melodic, lovely stuff, so maybe I need to be a bit more forgiving.

  3. iltv…I don’t “do” the valentine thing either. As for finding a frog in your current weather…don’t like yer chances! :-) Although Wiltshire might be damp enough to find one!

  4. Hello over there! You know… I don’t like those hallmark holidays either. Having said that, my husband and I bought each other little boxes of chocolate which we’re going to share after dinner tonight.

    And I hope Mr. Frog survives the ride in the tail light.

    • kim…it all gets a bit too commercial, doesn’t it? And why only once a year? I like to have “little treats” on a whim. Any sign of a snowdrop yet?

  5. Great post! I think that Brazillian waxing thing is really creepy. Don’t get why people do it at all. Ick. And the poor froggy. When I went to a Superbowl party I asked everyone if they could draw a frog and passed around a piece of paper and a pen. Everyone who thought they could started and then realized they had huge gaps in their visual memories and could only get halfway and had to quit. That was reassuring since I’d had the same experience before I left home when I was working on a painting. You managed to do a quite creditable job with your frog.

    • jana…thankyou. I used to draw frogs often for some reason. Then it was ow;s. These days, I have to check a reference book first! ;-) Braz wax? No thanks. I have trouble ripping a band-aid off!

    • cath…welcome. I think I see you at Vivien’s and Denise’s, yes? The waxing idea makes my eyes water, given that band-aids are beyond me! And I hope Freddo’s OK. It’s raining buckets so he’s probably off carousing! ;-)

Leave a Reply

