KINKY? OR STRAIGHT?

Coming home the other night, The Man doing the driving, I asked: “Do you prefer kinky or straight?”

And without missing a beat, he said:”Your hair?”

I suspect this may be a sign of the (rushing-to-the-finish-line) times. Thirty years ago he’d have pulled off the road and suggested we find out…

Truth can be harsh.

I’m working on some lino plates and with good luck and time on my side I hope to have a print to offer as a blogiversary prize. But that will not happen if I dither about on the blog.

Southerners are posting glorious photos of tulips and crab-apples and forsythia. Up here we have a different show…

I was heading to the Botanic Gardens gallery the other day when I turned a corner and saw this!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yellow Tabebuia (T.chrysantha)      see here for more info  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabebuia_chrysantha  Had it not been on a blind corner I might have got a better picture. But, trust me, it is stunning.

Back home again I stumbled into yet another of my eight-legged friends. oops!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been told these little fellows are “jewel “spiders, but they don’t seem to match any of my pictures. Well, whether they are Austracantha 0r not, they are rather pretty.

Not sure whether the next picture qualifies as “pretty” but it’s definitely “kinky.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Strange…my eyes look green!

20 thoughts on “KINKY? OR STRAIGHT?

  1. Yes, a knockout yellow. There are also quite a few pink ones around town and the local golf club has a row of pinkies which reminds me of cherry blossom. As to the curly hair – it requires a little chemical assistance these days! :-)

    • Just for fun, I gave myself orange eyes once. In an editing programme, not for real! Looked most peculiar…But, years ago, when contact lenses were suggested I asked for green.

    • I’ll tell her that! She is pretty good. Old-school with the scissors, too and less than half the cost of my former salon. Some days, it’s nice to have a win. :-)

      • In regards to what Andrea said…I second that!I’d love to see that doorknob!

  2. Brilliant photos! That tree is a gorgeous yellow! And that spider & web? Gorgeous. Are you a self-taught photographer or what? You don’t just do those kinds of shots by accident. Great shot of your curls!

    • Hah! I’m pretty much point-and-shoot; it took several attempts to get a curls shot that didn’t have all sorts of stuff in the background. Got a lovely picture of the bathroom door knob… :-)

  3. Green-eyed and kinky! Sounds good to me. Seriously, I like the curls. And the nifty interesting spider. We don’t generally get ones that colorfully exotic. I like spiders*. Sadly, many of my friends don’t.

    *Well, except when the black widows set up the arachnid equivalent of a condominium resort in my studio, which they are kind of doing again…

    • Thankyou.

      Black widows colonising your *studio*. Ack!I’d have to draw the line there! I’m a live and let live type, but some things just don’t fit into my household. (We had a few redbacks at our former property, but they were not inside the house. And anyway, while unpleasantly venomous they are not usually deadly.;-) )

  4. love the glorious colours of the southern hemispherical springtime! we are orange up here. heading toward brown…

    oddly, i used to have wavy hair. lost most of it in 2000. when it grew back? fine and very curly. now? just frizz – especially when exposed to humidity! i like your curls – they do seem to convey movement!

    • We’re at the in-between stage this time of year. Once the rains start the more tropical, jungle-y blooms take over.

      I like my curls, too.Very wash-and-wear! :-)

Leave a Reply

