I AM STILL HERE!

Some of you may have thought I’d given up blogging entirely.Understandable!

I did think about it, I must admit. “Self,” I said to myself, “If you start something you should be committed to whatever it is. Or at least tell people that you have changed your mind!”

So, for a while, Self and I discussed this business of feeling overwhelmed by so many things  (like 3 sets of artists’ books, a small exhibition, a couple of writing projects…) and between us, we ironed-out a few wrinkles (bugger! I’ve just remembered I need to iron a shirt for tonight!) and I have decided, with self-help, that I will stick with this blogging lark. I just may have to keep my posts sparse til the dust settles on other projects.

So…I’ll be back soon. In the meantime, this is a taste of what I’ll be up to tomorrow. Some young Japanese students are visiting from our sister city, Matsuura, and I’ll be at school, making paper kites.

Oh! And here’s a scrappy little sketch of the “Young Endeavour” which was “parked” in front of My Man’s office one freezing morning.

And a slightly better photo of her, 8 hours later.Still freezing!

Thank you to those of you who are still with me.

Update…Helen’s comment(see below) has prompted me to share the link to the birds.

http://bibliodyssey.blogspot.com.au/2012/08/the-trogons.html

28 thoughts on “I AM STILL HERE!

    • Are you making books these days? Wasn’t there something from Keith’s class you wanted to do? Oh, did you know Adele has booked him for a class at West End!

  1. I am glad to see you back. As an appreciator rather than a creator I feed on people like you. How honest is that? You have been warned.
    And I loved your sketch in the cold, and kites are always a delight.

    • Yes, Amanda,I’m sure that’s sound advice. Nothing in life should be an irksome chore. And I do enjoy my time reading and writing blogs; just need to focus on other things for a while. I blame the heady air of England!

      • Ah yes, the English… such a bad influence… heh… heh. I just took a two month break myself and wondered if I wanted to do it anymore, but then it felt good to be back. I’m with Amanda–the blog should be a source of pleasure, not guilt. But it is good to see you back once in a while. I hope the kites and kids were fun!

    • Yes, Scarlet, I think the worth does tip the scale. And when I read what you’re going through…! Well, I just square my shoulders, take a deep breath and carve some time from my day.Amazing how far 24 hours will stretch!
      Thanks for finding time to pop over here.

  2. Maybe it’s contagious all the way from Australia to North Carolina? I’m having a hard time trying to motivate myself to blog, even to take snapshots which is my most favorite thing to do. Heat malaise?

  3. Phew. I’m glad you’re back.

    It’s good to see all this creativity going on.

    I don’t know if I should say this…but the energy of all the creative bloggers revs me up. I want to write more, more…I’m going to dig out a manuscript I’ve been working on…

    Trogons are so beautiful, I’ve never heard of them before.

    • Yes, there is often a absorption of creative energy from within a like group.

      You might have trogons closer than you think, GG. Mme. Fly (first comment) is in Costa Rica and has one variety at the top of her garden! If you were not so busy polishing that ms you could visit. ;-)

  4. Oh boy, do I know exactly what you mean about the blogging. I stopped for such a long time because I was finding my online time was seriously interfering with real life and the work I needed to be doing. I feel so much better after a long break and now that I’ve just begin to blog again, it’s much more on a ‘fill in’ basis rather than me feeling like I need to do this. It feels better. So bravo to you as well — I understand.
    Oh and I know you’re bound to thoroughly enjoy the exchange students!
    {Diane from http://www.dianeschuller.com/blog or flickr}

Leave a Reply

