A NEW (ISH) YEAR.

Hmmm, that sounds like a שיקסע New Year greeting. I guess, technically, it is! I am a Shiksa.

Whichever calendar or faith you follow, I do wish you all a year of good health, happiness and artistic creativity. A little profit wouldn’t go amiss!

Things have been  a little quiet around here, workwise. But tomorrow, The Man will be back in harness, I’ll be  “home alone” and stalled work will be finished and new work begun.

So have a look now at my relatively tidy writing corner.* It wont last!

my working corner

Jackie Morris is inviting (daring?) people to share the messiness or otherwise of their desks. Apparently, her two new kittens had the idea for “International Desk Day.” You can see the progress here http://www.jackiemorris.co.uk/blog/?p=2416 And while you’re there, go back a few posts and share Jackie’s delight in her new loves. Yes, you’ll also see Elmo, of the Ginger Darlings and Max, long-time artist’s model.

We did manage to get quite a lot of yard work done. It was exhausting and we frequently ended our days in great need of “fizzyotherapy.” That’s my newly-coined term for Prosecco.** After a few hours of pruning, chopping, digging and planting, it was sheer bliss to sit, showered and slightly-less-stiff, with a glass of bubbles. Therapy indeed.

And that’s it for now! I might have some garden pictures or other work-in-progress in a day or so. I might not!

But I’ll be wandering around  the blogs, trying to keep up with all you scallywags…

 

 

* I really ought to mend that poor old Oxford!

** It works for any beverage that has those nose-tickling bubbles.

17 thoughts on “A NEW (ISH) YEAR.

  1. Impressed by your tidy desk. Photo please when you’re back in harness and it looks more used. Going to visit Jackie Morris next. Thanks for the tip.

    Prosecco is medicinal! I find it does wonders for gardening aches and pains as well as for when I just need a drink. Have you added peach pulp to turn it into a Bellini?

    Are you getting rain? We are glued to the TV watching where the fires are. None here at the moment but it’s a nerve racking watch. I’m checking the chooks every hour to see that they are surviving the heat and have water around the garden for birds. A scary day.

    • Hah! You already know how untidy it(and everything else!) gets.
      The fires! Oh, god! It’s dreadful. So many in so many places. It’s still very dry up here, although we have had some rain.
      If you can spare it, turn on the hose (gentle sprinkler) for your chookies. And if any look “drunk” dunk ‘em in a bucket of water.Yes, it works! :-)

  2. Home alone has real charm. Sometimes at least.
    The picture of your desk is sheer bragging. Jackie Morris’s new babies take furry enchantment to new highs.
    We have high wind and hot temperature today. Nerve-wracking. I am off to check the sky, and the ‘Incident Map’ site.

  3. Whenever I come to visit you here, I’m always so struck by how different life is down under…it’s quite refreshing for me to hear about someone toiling away in the garden! I can’t wait for spring over here when I can be doing the same…I have so many goals. In the meantime, you know what I’m up to, as you so kindly gave me my first comment on the new blog! Last year I did have the same goal and didn’t get past February keeping up with it…for this year I have higher hopes. Cheerio.

    • Well, I will try to post my results, but probably not every day.I’ll try for a week’s worth at a time!You’ll find whatever I do just under my banner, in “sketches”

  4. January is always a good month for excavations. Mine are just starting – and i’ve a looooooong way to go before i sleep. But there is liquid therapy at the end of the day as needed… Love the work nook! Very cozy!

    • Ah, the nook rarely stays this neat for long!When the printer’s fired-up I generally have papers spread all over the place. The spare bed is a handy place to collate pages! :-)

  5. Your desk looks like mine does five minute before a party arrives. I do like being a scallywag. That must be of Australian origin surely? And I’m delighted to learn that you’re “an attractive blonde gentile woman or girl who might be a temptation to Jewish men or boys, e.g., for dating, intermarriage, etc.. I suspected no less. (wikipedia)

    • Thank you, Mig. Scallywag seems to be American and was a term for Southern white men who collaborated with Northern Republicans after the American civil war. But the Urban Dictionary gives modern (very vulgar) definitions.Certainly not what I’d call a cheeky little boy! :-)
      I did once go out with a Jewish chap. Don’t think his family saw me quite like that though.haha!

Leave a Reply

