Moreidlethoughts Weblog

humour,art,gardens, books and whatever idle thoughts float through my mind (it's a very draughty mind.)

I’M BATTY FOR A PARADE!

Leave a comment

Well, it’s a little difficult to distinguish her, but this is Shona, the fruit bat.Of course, being a nocturnal critter, she took some persuading to have her picture taken in daylight!

In recent years the bats have been having a tough time. Not only has the lissa virus hit them hard, the associated paranoia has compounded the problems.

And, of course, there are still many orchadists who hate them.

But Chez Dinahmow we have a fondness for them and if they (and the possums and the birds) get to the bananas before I do,well…that’s life!

I was never a registered bat carer, but I did do a couple of rescues and passed them on to carers. That was in pre-lissa days; now, anyone who handles bats is supposed to be vaccinated.
Thinking about the bats makes me want to do some “batty” art. Maybe a collage? A print? Hmm…
warning!
If you’re a Miss Muffet type, stop now
I figured that it would not be long before an orb weaver made use of the struts on our new deck sails. That’s just fine by me; those spiders can suck the life out of as many mosquitoes as they want. Go, Spiders! But…could we come to a compromise on the placement of the web, please? Not right outside the back door, where I’ll walk into it. And another thing…how come all cobwebs are at the eye level of a 5’2″ person? Serious research needs to be done into the training of all arachnids. Anyone throwing silly grant money my way?
Someone in Cyberia is playing silly bloggers today…this is my third attempt to publish.I’m gonna go while the going’s good!

Author: dinahmow

A New Zealander, currently living in tropical Queensland,Australia (with 2 cats and one Main Man).Old enough to remember George VI, white tennis balls and life-before-television.You want more? Read the blog!

Leave a Reply

