TWEAKING AND TINKERING.

 by dinahmow Leave a comment

Still faffing about, dithering between WordPress and Blogger. The poor tic-tac chap’s waving his hands about, completely confused as to what odds to give. How the hell does he think I feel!

Here’s a picture of sugar cane. Some is being cut now (July) and sent to one of the local mills.

As I mentioned, I’ve been uncertain whether to muddle along here or try again at Blogger. The jury’s still out…

While I was doing all this fiddling, I remembered another blog I’d started, a few years ago. I have no recollection of taking this photo (over the years I must have snapped dozens of boating events on the Waitemata Harbour.) But I rather like it, so I’m foisting sharing it with you. That’s the Auckland Harbour Bridge, in case you didn’t know.* ED: this image is, apparently, from the WordPress collection of possible headers!

Ooh! I’ve just noticed the time! I’d better get some breakfast sorted as John is coming to cut some of the Indigofera arrecta this morning. The reasonably warm weather and unseasonal rain has done wonders! As I write this, I’m wearing a fleecy hoodie and socks**, but I’ll no doubt peel off a couple of layers ere long.

A few weeks ago, when the bottom almost fell out of the thermometer, I noticed what looked like snow in a very shady part of the garden …

Definitely not snow and my knowledge of fungi is pretty rudimentary, but I think this was (possibly) some sort of slime mold. It was gone after a day or so.

I think this will have to do for now; I have “other plans” for the day. Ooh! I bet you’re all dying to know what!

Best guess might win a prize! Or not…

*Perhaps this is not one I took. If so, apologies to the photographer.

**And pants! Of course.

26 thoughts on “TWEAKING AND TINKERING.

  1. I like the harbour photo too! I’m not so keen on the slime mould – I’m glad it went away.
    As for the Blogger/WordPress conundrum – do what you feel is best for you – if it ain’t broke don’t fix it! It was sort of broken for me because I’d had enough of the expense – and I just can’t get my head around the Block Editor – whenever I post I still use the Classic Editor.
    Sx

    Like

    • Hahaha! If you’d known me a few years ago you’d have fallen a giggle-heap when you saw my snowman this might give you an ideahttps://moreidlethoughts.wordpress.com/2011/01/28/an-australian-sandwich/

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My ability to ‘like’ WordPress posts and comments has returned! (I may have gone a little overboard). I think as long as I do the liking before leaving a comment, it should work in future too? You know, just in case you decide to stay here rather than move (back) to Blogger.

    Anyway. Sugarcane. Could that photo also be a submission to Melanie’s grasses theme this month?
    And the “snow” looks like a pile of mouldy grated cheese. No, it’s okay thanks, I won’t top for lunch…

    P.S. The boating event photo is lovely, but seems to be in use somewhere else (I bet they nicked it off you!).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just migrated BACK to Blogger from WordPress after they axed my blog for including racy pictures, and I agree with Scarlet, it’s much easier than dealing with WordPress and their stupid upgrades.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sticking with WordPress. It looks better than Blogger and you can do more with it – but it does take some work. It depends what your objectives are. I certainly agree that block editor is a pain – it takes so much longer to post an article. But if that’s the way things are going, there’s probably not much I can do about it.

    Like

    • That’s pretty much how I feel, too. And changing would involve a swathe of time I don’t have at present! So I’ll just continue to cruise here. But one day, when WP puts a suggestion across my entire page…I’ll jump ship. And hope there’s a lifeboat nearby! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s the plan. But not today… everyone seems to be into hippie tie-dye. My first venture will probably be to over-dye a dress in which red dye has bled. Two things to note: 1. Chinese didn’t check the stability of the red dye. 2, Australian company who owns the Chinese company who botched the dye didn’t have much of an overseer! Life is full of such lessons, kids.

      Like

  5. I try to publish a post once a month. It’s a manageable goal, but you have to do what works for you. A least keeping a blog as ~the living dead~ lets you still visit and post on other blogs without having to be anonymous. We all go through blogging cycles, it’s hard to say how long a period of inactivity will last. I still hope to see comments from you from time to time!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. And…into this mix, just to jolly me along, my modem quit working. And as that meant the phone was also defunct, I had to buy a mobile phone in order to call the telephone elves. Finally, I managed to convince someone that the modem was like Monty Python’s parrot. As you can see, the new one is working….

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.