RETURN OF THE DITCH-HOPPER

December 17, 2023.

And as they used to say , “tempus fugit.”

I had a quick trip back to New Zealand in October crikey! was it October? No! It was November. I think…

Anyway, it was lovely to catch up with some old friends. Even two lads I had not seen since High School! Lots of laughs and reminiscing. And good food and drink. Did I mention that?

And on the day I left, the brother-in-law suggested that we scoot over to the Botanic Gardens on the way up to the airport. Excellent idea, as he’d taken me out to see that when it was very much in its infancy last time I was across the ditch.

So, yes , that was a lovely way to finish my stay. No photos (I didn’t take a camera, as my “good” one was being cleaned/repaired.), but here’s a link and I’m sure there are more images on the WWW https://www.google.com/search?q=auckland+botanic+gardens&rl

We managed not to get drenched and made it back to the cafe for lunch (very yummy!) and then it was off to the airport… the flight was a little late leaving and some bumpy weather delayed us further. The cabin steward announced as we were approaching Brisbane that several passengers had to catch a connecting flight (yeah! one of them was me!) and would other passengers please remain seated to allow people to make it to their connecting flight. It was like the Pamplona bull run! Rude buggers pushing and shoving and racing for the air-link thingy. And not one I recognised!

But I enjoyed my little trip and was happy to be back in Mackay to catch up with things on home turf.

One of the “catch-ups” was a lunch with some fellow printmakers, to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the founding of our print society. Not all members attended, but it was good to see some faces I’d not seen for a few years!

And that’s all I have time for, folks. I read recently that early risers are probably descended from Neanderthals. Well, that (and a cat!) would account for my early rising. But the post-luncheon “nanna naps” don’t seem to have a scientific basis…

So …off for a snooze!

15 thoughts on “RETURN OF THE DITCH-HOPPER

  1. The Auckland Botanic Gardens look lovely – shame you didn’t have your camera. And your print society seems to be a fun bunch – look at all those big smiles! I just have one question: Where’re all the bottles of wine? Hidden under the table for the photo? (Is that why the tablecloth’s on the wonk?)?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you had a nice trip! I just got back from a trip myself and it was the same thing on the plane where they asked people who weren’t in a hurry to connect flights to let those who were off first. We and only two other couples seemed nice enough to actually listen and wait though. That is so cool that you’ve done printmaking! It’s something I’ve meant to try, but I can say that about a lot of things. There’s something special about watching a botanical garden grow up. Almost like watching a distant niece or nephew come into their own.

    Like

  3. Mr Mags! Hello! I am fine, but now feel a bit guilty at not having brought you all up to date. Nothing terribly dramatic, just rather busy.

    It’s strange how damned busy one can be when retired…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.