YES, I AM BACK IN THE SADDLE.

We have been busy. Still clearing some areas of what I laughingly call “the jungle.”

This morning I braved the back steps up to the boundary line and discovered…flowers on one of the (many!) crotons!

Croton

This is not far from the Grevillea, revealed when The Man chopped some overgrown ,weedy stuff a couple of weeks ago.

Grevillea insignis

I did start counting crotons…that sounds like a remedy for insomnia. Perhaps it is! But I gave up – they seem to be everywhere! Not that I’m complaining as they are so colourful and such hardy plants, especially in a “wild” sort of area. The experts will tell you they need regular, deep watering, blah-blah. Well, not here! Most of these plants have been here for 20+ years and survive on rain which, in the monsoon season, can be much more than mere “watering.” Tough as old boots! But I will lay a soaker hose along the top boundary and hope we don’t need to have a hose ban!

Croton
Another Croton (with bonus moccasins!)

And a Croton, with “modified” leaves

There is a row, almost a hedge, of Raphiolepis indica in front of the deck. A few months ago I started pruning it, then we had a decent couple of rainy days and it flowered! So I left it for the bees. But I will try to reduce it somewhat before the wet season.

Raphiolepis

And two or three Draecenas are flowering! Useful fillers and, if you’re lucky enough to have flowers, deliciously scented. A bit ( to my nose, anyway) like clover. The thing is, they are not what I’d call reliably performing bloomers! All sorts of insects work them for nectar. And their strappy leaves are often chomped!

Dracaena flowers

And, since I’ve used the chomp word…I used a few other colourful words yesterday when I discovered that almost ALL the flower buds on a new Callistemon had been chomped, presumably by a caterpillar, though I couldn’t see one. Bastard! I only bought the plant last week and was very much looking forward to…this. Oh well, fingers crossed.

Callistemon “Dawson River”

The big pot of Eucharis lily is flowering. I will probably keep it in a pot (maybe split it when this flowering is over), but yesterday I noticed a hitherto unseen white flower just off the deck. A careful tug of some other things revealed another Eucharis!

Eucharis lily
The second one, not planted by me!

Two of the papaw trees are fruiting, but whether we’ll get any ripe fruit is a 50-50 gamble. Possums, birds and bats also love pawpaw!

Pawpaw

One more picture before you nod off, bored to death? Oh, alright! Here’s Grevillea “Moonlight.” Long overdue for a serious pruning, but, being about the only thing keeping the birds and bees going we hadn’t the heart!

Grevillea “Moonlight” probably around 20’/6m

13 thoughts on “YES, I AM BACK IN THE SADDLE.

  1. We all need reliably performing bloomers!! To save us from the paw-paw. It’s all bats.
    Meanwhile, you have been very busy. We have an early faux Autumn here, so I imagine that one gust of wind in September will strip everything bare – again, we need some decent Autumnal bloomers.
    Sx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh! you are funny! Funnier than I am, but that’s what the comment thread’s all about, right? And Norfolk made the news with a picture of a dried-up pond, not very far from our friend who had a sail boat on his pond. Hmmm…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Those Dracaena flowers are rather beautiful – like a pink froth! And I’m envious of your big, glossy, elegant Eucharis lilies.
    I love finding surprises in the garden – or allotment. I wonder if a punnet of greengages would make up one paw paw? (The greengages were a surprise this year – last year there werea mere handful, but this year they’re everywhere!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh! I can’t remember when I last saw green gages! The only plums I see here are Victoria and whopping great things like tennis balls. Size, that is, not fuzzy white things!
      I’m glad rain is taking the edge of the heatwave for you.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.