I’ll not be like one of those politician chaps who manages to get himself elected, make a right porridge of things and then offer some apologetic Blarney.

No, I shall simply tell the truth. I’m a shiftless slacker.Lazy to my core. (And a bit busy on other fronts.)

So…what’s on the docket that keeps me busy? Well, we are still de-cluttering and trying to get used to the fact that a bed or chair is no longer where my backside remembered.Ouch!

And we’ve had a huge clear-out-the-overgrowth in the garden.Well, that, I must admit, was all down to The Man. Still feeling somewhat shingled, I wasn’t up to much heavy work. * And then we had some unseasonal rain. When you live in an area of seasonal shut-down unexpected rain surprises you. And it surprised some plants, too! Poor things thought they’d take it easy for a while, maybe pop out the odd flower here and there…

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is moon-cactus20200709_112717.jpg

Moon cactus Gymnocalycium mihanovichii is a species of cactus from South America. The most popular cultivars are varied mutants which completely lack chlorophyll, exposing the red, orange, or yellow pigmentation. These mutant strains are often grafted onto the hylocereus cactus, and the combined plant is called a “Moon Cactus”. Wikipedia


Even things like the Tithonia, which flowers madly from about May to July has gone totally triffid.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is tithonia20190523_103944.jpg



A few months ago our back fence neighbour did his once-in-a-blue-moon weeding and pruning and ripped out yards/metres of my Tecomanthe hillii (Fraser Island Creeper). I’d have preferred it cut with sharp secateurs, but the fellow is not a gardener…

Yesterday, my Man said : “Look at the Fraser Island Creeper! It’s over Rick’s fence again!” And charging up a palm like Phar Lap on steroids…

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 48856179941_3c5792e147_s.jpg



A Grevillea (not named), apparently in a wager against the Tithonia. Somewhere beyond that jungle is a house…

 

 

Nephila pillipes.….looking much plumper now so I think her boyfriend got what he came for. (And with no sign of him, she probably did, too!)

*And I milked it shamelessly!

 

 

 

NO ABJECT APOLOGIES. NO EXCUSES.

26 thoughts on “NO ABJECT APOLOGIES. NO EXCUSES.

    • I know a lot of people have a “thing” about spiders, but, really, they gobble up all sorts of bugs, like mozzies and the don’t go pootling around the country, claiming to be having their eyes tested, or protecting their Greek holiday homes from the plague.

      And the thing about jungles is that one does need to keep the whip hand.Or machete hand!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I like jungles, and I like spiders (except, perhaps, when they eat the bees – but, nature, eh?). Our garden comes not even close to your verdant acreage, but we’ve had rain, too – lots of it – and everything out the back is growing like Topsy! Jx

    PS a double helping of Tithonia? Ambassador, you are spoiling us…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Minister!
      I did wince at you sloshing about, picking up decapitated fuschias. And I accept “natural terminations” in the insect world.(Though I admit I do have to takes steps when ants come indoors.)

      Like

  2. I’m imagining slapstick Laurel-&-Hardy-like scenes at mention of moved/missing furniture… I hope you’re not too bruised?

    Your jungle is magnificent, Dinah! How lovely it would be to find Tarzan in there. Unless he’s been half eaten by that splendid spider (which I’m guessing is shown smaller than life size?)…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Laurel and Hardy. It was a bit like that, as we skidded stuff along on a padding of old beach towels!
      And when we sold the big table and moved a smaller one into its place, poor Sporran had to recalibrate her jumps to reach the counter top!
      Ooh! It’s all fun an’ games, innit?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fabulous spider. We’ve gone from arid to drenched in a matter of days. I don’t think you’re lazy in the least, I remember wanting to go to bed and leave the washing up until the morning, but you wouldn’t let it happen!

    Like

      • We’re all fine, thank you. Only one virus case in the whole of South Norfolk in the last fortnight and it was no one I knew. Though I suppose it’s bound to go up now we’re getting haircuts.

        Like

      • Oh dear…one day I’ll have to bite(or dodge!) the bullet and get a professional trim. I’ve been cutting my own for months! Shame about the Blog Party, though…

        Like

  4. Good to see you and your triffids.
    With an unexpectedly enthusiastic start to the rainy season – on the part of the rain – we were overgrown very quickly and were delighted when our new tenant offered his services to tidy up the garden. With plants he has done a good job…even managing to tame the edible passion fruit plants…but in other areas not so successful. In two successive days he managed to cut the telephone wires and the water pipes…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh dear! Well, I might have used stronger language, but still, it is good to have garden help.Later, when it’s light enough to see, I might tackle the Antigonon. Again! And I think the passion fruit is making a comeback so that will need “reining-in” …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, she is a stunner. And we used to many more of her family, but I think a combination of drier-than-normal weather and over-use of chemicals accounted for lower numbers. Fingers crossed for this girl!

      Like

  6. Lovely garden shots – given so much unexpected time at home this year, i’ve managed to grow some tomatoes and peppers on my small patio and the flowers have not yet died. A modern day miracle for me! The spider was a surprise – may she keep the skeeters at bay!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.